Brown interview FAQ and answers

<p>I am a Brown alum who has been interviewing students since I graduated more than 25 years ago. Here are some common questions, and my answers.</p>

<p>Who gets interviewed?
Brown wants everyone who applies to get interviewed. There is absolutely, positively no connection between who gets interviewed and who is going to be accepted.
The only students who don’t get interviewed are those who go to certain prep schools.
Athletic recruits: Yes, we want to interview you, too, even if you have a likely letter.</p>

<p>What’s the process?
Your information is put into a database. Every geographic area has alumni chairs who match applicants to alumni interviewers. They use the database to assign you to an alum, who gets an email with your contact information. This alum then contacts you to arrange an interview.</p>

<p>It’s all computerized. You file your application, it gets into the computer system, and is uploaded into the database. </p>

<p>I haven’t heard yet; what does that mean?
The database goes live sometime in mid- to late October, so even if you sent in your ED application in September, you won’t hear anything until late October.</p>

<p>Not all alums act promptly. If you haven’t been contacted, it may mean the alumni chair hasn’t made the assignments, the alumni interviewer hasn’t looked at his/her email, or the interviewer got the email and hasn’t contacted you yet. Some area chairs may make assignments the moment a name pops up; others may wait until most of the applicants are in the system. Some interviewers might call right away, others might not. And some are busy or lazy or forgetful and don’t call.</p>

<p>In some geographic areas with few alumni, we try to arrange phone interviews. Some areas with large numbers of applicants have mass/group interview sessions – I don’t know anything about these.</p>

<p>If you don’t hear by around Nov. 20 for early decision and by Feb. 1 for regular decision, then call admissions.</p>