Current CS Senior at UMD - ask me anything

Hello! A few years ago, I posted the thread I internally transferred to CS - ask me anything. Since that thread is quite old now, I did want to open up a new one for any questions about CS at UMD. For background, I am an out-of-state student originally from Pennsylvania, and I enrolled as a math major in Fall 2019. I was also admitted to the ACES LLP and have since completed my honors citation. After enrolling as a freshman, I decided that I would like to double major in CS, so I completed my gateway requirements and applied to add CS as a double major. I was automatically accepted as is true for everyone who first completes the gateway requirements and then applies.

First of all, I want to say CONGRATULATIONS to everyone who has been admitted to the class of 2027!! It has not been an easy application cycle, and this is truly an accomplishment. Definitely take some time to celebrate and come visit the campus! Soon, you’ll be making your decision on whether you will enroll. I want to help you have the knowledge you need to make the best decision for you and your family.

CS at UMD truly has been one of the best experiences of my life. I made lifelong friends and learned so so much. I even went on to intern at Facebook, one of my goals since I took my first college CS class. The school provided me funding to attend Grace Hopper Celebration for Women in Computing each year I’ve asked to, and I’m so grateful for those networking and learning opportunities. I taught my own discussion section for Discrete Structures and had a lot of fun finding interesting ways to approach proofs and combinatorial problems. There are so many more memories that I will always cherish, such as attending basketball games, starting a competitive Smite team, and more that would take up many pages.

Feel free to leave any questions below, and take good care of this school I love. Go terps!!!

7 Likes