Differences in Applicant Pools

Very interesting differences. Two-thirds of applicants to Brown are female.

2 Likes

They may be trying to even up their campus male/female ratio. They have a higher percentage of females currently.

1 Like

I am certain they are; the question remains whether that will be legal after June 2023. Brown needs more male applicants. Perhaps starting a business or engineering major would help.

5 Likes

Brown has a longstanding engineering program (recently housed in the School of Engineering, but the major predates the SoE). It has also has undergraduate programs in business and entrepreneurship that are housed in the Econ and Sociology departments. You can also get an executive MBA in its School for Professional Studies (though this doesn’t affect undergraduate studies, of course). Brown has expanded its professional studies divisions beyond what they had when I was an undergraduate there in the '80s-'90s, I think creating an entirely new business school would be contrary to their liberal arts-focused mission.

3 Likes

Interesting that Brown is the only Ivy League school with >60% of applicants who are female. (About 60% of college students overall are female.)

Also interesting that seven of the eight Ivy League schools saw a relatively large increase in the percentage of applicants who are female in the 2020-2021 application cycle compared to the 2019-2020 application cycle. Did COVID-19 (without vaccines and with various limitations on residential college life at the time of college applications in the 2020-2021 application cycle) disproportionately discourage male applicants?

Maybe women were more likely to not apply when schools were not test optional? So they got a bigger application number boost when schools went TO.

2 Likes

If you look back at the common data sets, you’ll find it’s been like that for several years.