Homeless, didn't get in through the waitlist, have no where else to go, need advice

<p>Warning: Lots of complaining coming up ahead. I just need to vent, sorry.</p>

<p>Without getting into too many details, I'm homeless and dirt poor. I lived in foster care until I was 18 and then I lived with different friends, going from house to house each week. I live off of money I earn from odd jobs (babysitting, tutoring, gardening, etc.). The most valuable thing I have is this laptop I bought years ago when I still lived with my real parents.</p>

<p>I applied to MIT because I LOVE math and computer science, and I got waitlisted. I'm not an USAMO or USACO medalist, but my accomplishments were good enough for me to be considered by MIT.</p>

<p>I am an international student. I live in the US with no papers. I don't have parents. My friends will all be going to college soon. I won't have anywhere to live. I can't get a real job because I don't have citizenship or residency. I can't go to college because I haven't been accepted anywhere. I can't pay for rent somewhere and feed myself off of babysitting/tutoring money.</p>

<p>I don't know what to do, I'm so lost. My life has been so difficult, and it's hard enough just to keep going these past few years. It feels like right when I've gathered enough strength to stand up again, some angry god just kicks me back down. I can't write everything that's happened on a public forum. Bad things just happen to me left and right. I just feel so helpless.</p>

<p>I can't talk to my friends about this, not yet. Everyone expected me to get in.</p>

<p>I need a solution, I need a plan. Would e-mailing MIT even accomplish anything? Maybe they have ONE international kid who didn't enroll and that would leave a spot for me? I don't know, I'm desperate.</p>

1 Like

<p>Hi -</p>