Reapplying After Being Waitlisted

Hi everyone, I’m an international student, I applied last year to 10 colleges all of them reach schools as I was planning to take a gap year anyway unless I was going to a top school. I was rejected from Harvard, Stanford, Brown, Cornell, and Columbia but waitlisted at Yale, UPenn, Carnegie Mellon, Northwestern, and UMich. I am considering applying to Yale SCEA this cycle as its my dream school and I never even expected to be waitlisted, I haven’t done a lot in my gap year but my test scores did improve a bit, I added a few decent ECs, and I feel like the essays I applied with last time were horrible and that I can do much better. I’ve never heard of anyone reapplying to Yale and so I was wondering if I have any realistic chance.

Perhaps you should go a notch lower.

I wouldn’t expect applying to the same school a second time would change the result, especially when you say you’ve not done much with that year. In general, nothing will change.

To me, you’d be time wasting but there’s only one way to find out.

You’re obviously a strong student if you were WL at the college you mention…so perhaps adding a Brandeis, Rochester, Florida, Case Western level school or five would be smart and even one below so you are not shut out.

I’m not taking finances into account - but obviously you want to go to school. Where you go won’t matter if you have no where to go.

2 Likes

The one thing that you need to understand about waitlists is that some of them may be huge. For example, UPenn, had a WL of 3,205 for an expected class size of 2,300.

1 Like

Fair point. Being on the Wait List is a rejection but a hedge for the school. It’s for their benefit. Few had any real movement this year. My daughter was on Emorys…they took none or just a few. And she declined William & Mary’s WL offer.