4 HLs? SL/HL Math?

Hello everyone,
I am a sophomore in a predicament with my IB scheduling. Next year, I will be entering IB. Last year I completed Algebra 2, and my teacher recommends that I start in HL math and drop to SL if it gets to hard. The problem is, I would like to take history, however, it is only offered as an HL at my school. Would doing 4 HLs, Chemistry, Math, Lit, and History be too much? I could just forget history, but I feel that I would enjoy it. Also, I have to choose between SL bio, economics, or theater arts, and am leaning towards econ or theater. Thanks!

It’s often better to take precalculus before Maths HL. However your math teacher said you could, so… How common is it for students atbyour school who took algebra2 to go straight into HL?
Do you want to apply to Engineering or Physics?
Your IB choices should be linked to your interests.

I would definitely think you need pre-calc before taking HL Math. At our school if your highest math was Algebra 2 then SL or math studies were your only options. HL math is a very challenging course and I would only recommend taking it if you are a strong math student.

Both HL and SL math do review algebra and precalculus, at our school. However if you look the HL math exam,
is one of the harder exams to pass with a 5,6 or 7, if you are looking to earn math college credits.
. Are you very vested in getting an IB diploma? Then maybe take SL math
to be sure you pass the math exam. If you don’t really care about the diploma, then challenge yourself with HL math,
especially if you want to study physics, math, engineering or computer science in college, but maybe other science majors as well.

HL math contains proof based mathematics that is very good to be exposed to, for some college majors.
SL math will not expose you to proof based mathematics,