A few questions about the school and transfer chances

<p>Im currently a freshman at the University of Miami studying biomedical engineering. im looking to transfer to a school that has a strong engineering department and i know that UW-M is pretty strong in biomedical engineering.</p>

<p>my main question is what is the city like? my mom said it was a very cool place and a nice college town but i wanted to get a different view on it. coming from miami i know it will be a big change but im not too worried about that.</p>

<p>also can anyone give their input on my chances?</p>

<p>high school
GPA UW-4.3ish
W-3.98
ACT-30
rank #1 valedictorian
received IB diploma
good EC's
college
GPA first semester 3.94</p>

<p>thanks for the help!</p>

<p>also what are the kids like? im coming from a school where the kids are...well, very wealthy and a little stuck up so im looking for a place where kids are down to earth</p>

<p>This is such a funny post to me because our d just got denied (yesterday)from Univ of Miami which was her #1 school and she was accepted into UW Madison which is more selective. You will:
1) Have a blast because midwest 'kind' is felt throughout...Can't beat 'Big Ten' enviornment. Incredible school spirit...Go Badgers !!!!!
2) Engineering is pretty tough so study hard ! But know that you will get a great education.. Big firms love kids from big 10 schools...you will be more well rounded with more clubs etc....
3) You will easily get in with those transfer grades...keep them up.
4) Can you put a word in for our daughter at miami.....it's -2 here yesterday.
Brrrrrrrrrrrrrr...LOL.
5) Seriously....Madison is a fabulous campus...listen to your mom and go visit and then apply.....................
6) What was it about Miami...seriously. The adcom seemed nice.</p>