A few questions about UW-Madison

<p>Hi,</p>

<p>I'm an incoming transfer student to UW-Madison, enrolling for the Fall 2006 semester. I've had most of my questions answered by the admissions people (more helpful than at any other school I applied to, IMO), but I still have a few remaining questions about life at the school:</p>

<p>1) Do students get discounts on basketball/football/hockey tickets? If so, how do they work?</p>

<p>2) How helpful is the school when it comes to academic advising (choosing classes, planning for major, etc...)? Meaning, is it easy to get lost in the shuffle if you don't double and triple-check everything?</p>

<p>3) Is there a shuttle that goes to/from the Dane County Airport? I know about the Badger Bus that goes to/from Milwaukee, but whats the best way to get from the madison airport to the campus?</p>

<p>Any help is appreciated.</p>

<p>Thanks a lot,
LM225</p>

<p>I was thinking about shuttle bus from Chicago to Madison.</p>

<p>What about the Amtrack Train service from chicago to madison? where does it leave u? and how far from madison station is the campus?</p>

<p>I know basketball and hockey tickets are a lottery so they arent guaranteed. (freshman get entered once, sophmores twice, juniors = 3, Seniors = 4). As for football you can get season tickets for 7 games for around 185 I think. They sell out quick but they do hold tickets for freshman.</p>

<p>1) see guapocarlos above</p>

<p>2) Advising varies. You must be a self-advocating person if you want to attend this school. The curriculum is challenging, people are competetive, and it's easy to get lost in the shuffle if you don't take advantage of advising and make sure you fully understand all the requirements.</p>

<p>3) Madison has a great bus sytem. It's very easy to get to the Dane county airport. Buses to Chicago leave from the student union frequently and leave you at ohare airport.</p>

<p>Thanks everyone, this was all very helpful.</p>

<p>About the buses:</p>