Academics in UM

<p>Hello dear fellow students!</p>

<p>I'm an admitted student in the college of arts and sciences. As you know, the deadline for making the course preference almost there, and I would very much appreciate some help or advice</p>

<p>I applied to college of arts and sciences, because I didn't really know what I want to study, so I decided to go with the liberal arts program. Can anybody tell me how is that program and is it useful? Because I am also interested in the school of business or the school of communications. I want to do something creative, but as I said, it might be something with business or communications, and I'm not sure the college of arts and sciences provides the major I would like to choose after all yet it provides the liberal arts education.</p>

<p>Can somebody please give me any advise? I am an international student, so I'm not absolutely aware of the educational system and programs offered. I hear it's very useful to study business in the United States. But what to choose better, something particular like business or communications, or something wider at the beginning, meaning, the liberal arts?</p>

<p>Thanks so much in advance</p>

<p>I’m a rising junior at UM so I’ll just give you my perspective on this. The only “liberal arts” majors I know are football players or people who failed out of their respective program. You are right that it is a broader major, but the requirements for it seem to be pretty lax. </p>

<p>If you’re interested in Business, you can easily switch to the Business school and see how you like that. If you don’t, you can always switch out. And if you want a broad education, maybe you can major in something business related and double major or minor in something in the arts and sciences school.</p>

<p>Ok, so, there’s not a really strong liberal arts program?