Advice for a Texas A&M Struggling Student-Parent

I’m in a serious bind here and need some solid advice. I’m currently an International Studies student at TAMU College Station and need opinions regarding a transfer to TAMU Corpus Christi. It’s not an ideal transfer but would make my home life a lot easier. I know as far as school rankings and facilities or what have you, the main campus is far better than Corpus. Additionally, Corpus doesn’t have an International Studies program so I would have to change my major to Political Science. I would really like to stay at the main campus because I feel like it would be better for me and help me reach my goals easier. Also, I just feel like letting go of main campus and going to Corpus looks worse in regards to future graduate schools, or jobs or what have you. The reason I’m even contemplating this decision is because I have kiddohs and wife in Corpus and being away from them extended periods of time is really taking a toll. I currently have a perfect GPA after 2 semesters and my school work isn’t really suffering but it is a really difficult situation to be in. I’ve had people tell me, it doesn’t matter how great the school is if you’re not happy or if you’re family is not taken care of. However, I really love the school and just fear that I’m making a permanent mistake for a temporary feeling of stress/depression/loneliness. Part of me is saying just suck it up for a couple of semesters and your kids will be even far better off but the other part is saying your kids need you NOW. I guess I just want some advice from the parents out there or anyone really. P.S: family can’t move because of wife’s current career.

100% move! As a wife mom and aggie, you will be fine graduating from Tamu corpus.

I would like to know what career you are wanting post grad???

4 Likes

Which are?