Advice from CSCE majors/AP credit question

I’m an incoming freshman and was wondering…

1. I’m in AP Physics C this year, and plan on doing well on at least the mechanics section of the test. Would taking mechanics (218) at the university level benefit me if I’m going into computer engineering?
  2. For all courses: What would my grade on my transcript be if I accept AP credit? Would it only be an A if I get a 5 on the exam? Or will I even get a letter grade for a class I accept credit for?

Thanks in advance!

I’ll answer the AP portion… no grades/scores are listed for AP credits. WHEN you accept the courses - you do it by course not by AP exam, it shows on your transcript under ‘Texas A&M’ they list the course, the units of credit, and zero GPA points (grade). AP scores are not listed on your transcripts for the university.

The only items listed are the courses you choose to use your AP scores to get credit for - if you opt out, then there is nothing listed. Wait for an advisor to help you with this. Once you accept credit, it CANT be reversed. Having extra credits you don’t need, is not always a positive thing, unlike your parents generation where more was always better - so do ask advice from your advisor AT TAMU for your personal situation. Your AP credits do not expire (nor do CC credits) and you can wait along as you like to accept credits.

Thank you so much!

In case this helps you, I consulted an electrical engineering advisor about a similar question, and he told me that it was okay to take credit for physics other than take it at Texas A&M.

Okay thanks @KievanRus . I heard the physics classes are difficult and if I can get away with using AP credit without missing out on crucial information that’d be awesome