Advice on Transfering as a Music Student-How to tell my professors I'm leaving

Hello! I am currently a sophomore music performance student. I am currently looking to transfer to a different college, as my current program is small and music-ed-based, and I have found that I increasingly feel like this college is not a good fit, both in the specific program and on a larger, university-wide scale. However, I am worried about asking my music professors, specifically my primary instrument instructor, for recommendations. While I am aware most professors will not care if I transfer, the music program is a lot smaller and more personal, and I am not sure how to navigate asking for recommendations, especially if I later end up staying due to financial reasons/rejection from transfer schools. As a whole, I do like and get along with these professors, so that would not be an issue, but I am worried about what asking would do long-term if I had to stay. Do any other music transfers have any advice, especially those who ended up not transferring? Thank you

Can you be honest with your applied teacher about this.

Are you hoping to transfer to another music performance college? This could be your bigger challenge.

1 Like

I think I could be honest with my applied teacher about this, as they happen to be very supportive, I suppose the issue is if I end up NOT transferring, which kind of leads to your second question.