Alabama scholarship question

Hi

I was wondering is there any catch to the Presidential Scholarship at UA? For example, do you have to live in AL after graduation for a certain period of time? It looks too good to be true. According to the UA website all you need is a ACT comp of 32 or higher and at least a 3.5 GPA. That’s it? It’s hard to believe you can get free a ride just based on an ACT score and a B+ GPA. I’m a Michigan resident and my odds at being admitted to University of Michigan’s engineering school is slim to none. It is looking like I will have to go to Wisconsin or Purdue paying full out-of-state tuition (scholarships at those schools are for exceptional students, which I’m not). My ACT comp is 34 and my GPA is 3.62… My extracurricular activities are: 3 years varsity lacrosse, 3 years Computer Science club and president of Bodybuilders Club. Thank you for your time.

AJ

There’s no catch. UA is simply trying to attract a higher caliber student. If you are engineering, I think they will give you an additional $2500 stipend, as well. You do have to maintain a 3.0 gap to maintain your scholarship, but I’m not sure of the requirement for the engineering stipend.

Also, it is full tution, not a full ride – a full ride includes room and board (and some say fees and books). Still a great scholarship. Roll tide!

Ha, nice. Thanks for the super quick reply! Do you know what the starting salaries are for Alabama graduates in engineering and job placement rates? Or could you point me in the direction where I can find these stats. There is nothing on the UA website. I’m trying to make a comparison with other schools…

This may be what you are looking for:

http://career.ua.edu/downloads/firstDestination/First%20Destination%20Report%20ENG%20May%202014.pdf

Are you going to apply? Free tuition plus 2500 per year is a good deal.

Companies do NOT pay engineers different salaries based on where they graduated. Comparing salaries won’t really tell you anything.