Alabama vs. Ole Miss

<p>I was accepted at Ole Miss and I will be (auto admit stats, applied late) at Alabama. I’m a WI resident, so out of state. I plan on majoring in biology or something like that and going on to med or dental school.</p>

<p>I want a place that isn’t too academically difficult because I need a 4.0 for grad school. No honors college or anything like that.</p>

<p>Big school, small school, urban, rural, I’m not really picky.</p>

<p>Which do y’all think is better for me?</p>

<p>You should not skip the honors college at Bama. The classes aren’t harder if that’s what you fear.</p>

<p>However, you seem to be under the wrong impression that attending either school will make it easier to get all As for med school. That thinking is wrong. All good schools have very difficult classes that fulfill the premed prereqs. those are always the weeder classes. If you think that you can take it easy at Bama or Ole Miss, you’ll find yourself with a lot of Cs or worse in those prereqs.</p>

<p>@mom2collegekids- Thanks for the advice. </p>

1 Like

<p>Anyway…back to your question. Alabama draws more students from outside the southern region than Ole Miss does so likely a better fit for you.</p>

<p>I just don’t want you to think that it’s going to be easy to get all A’s at any good school as a premed. My son is in med school. He was a ChemE major. He had to work his fanny off for his A’s. The same would happen at Ole Miss. The purpose of the weeding is to force those who can’t cut it, to move onto something else. Orgo classes are killers everywhere.</p>

1 Like

<p>The past two weeks have been excruciating (at least to me) as my son weighed going to Alabama or Ole Miss. He loved both schools, received similar merit aid offers, and both schools offered challenging environments expected of any university.</p>