Am I able to check Hispanic/Latino on the Common App?

<p>I know many people have posted this question before, and I've looked into the classifications of Hispanic and Latino thoroughly, however I still am quite confused. I am a person of mixed origins, specifically 1/4th Argentinian, 1/4th Italian, 1/4th Irish, and 1/4th Austrian. On sheets in the past, I have identified with White, however since the beginning of this year, I have started to identify as both White and Hispanic. </p>

<p>Am I allowed to check "yes" when it asks if you are Hispanic on the common app? I'd prefer to check Hispanic as my last name is Hispanic/Italian sounding and Hispanics are an URM, so that would improve my chances of admission. However, I do not want colleges to think I am being deceitful, as I've heard even getting colleges to question your character can result in a rejection. However, if my background is technically able to be classified as Hispanic/Latino, that would be preferable. Assuming I am allowed to check Hispanic, what should I do to maximize my chances of being considered "diverse"?</p>

<p>Will colleges be suspicious/doubtful of me so that it could harm my chances of getting accepted? Will I need to provide documentation for my race (I believe it was my grandfather who was Argentinian and he emigrated to the US in the early 1900s, so as you can imagine I do not have this at hand)? All responses are greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.</p>

<p>

</p>

<p>In post #1 of the sticky thread about the definition of Hispanic, you will see that for the CA and college admissions purposes, the US Census definition of Hispanic is used:</p>

<p>

</p>