Am I doing enough this Summer?

Hi, I’m a high school freshman with a 4.0, but I have not done anything as far as extracurriculars are concerned during the school year. I don’t have any intentions of getting into an Ivy League school, but I do have plans regarding vet school.
Over an online program, I am doing some extra schooling over summer in Biology and Government, which can give me an extra credit towards graduation. While I don’t plan on staying in high school in my Junior year and beyond (I want to do early college) I think that it would make me stand out more.
I am also going to be working at a veterinary clinic, shadowing my aunt, for about a week in the summer.
I was planning on getting a job this summer, but family vacations and responsibilities have taken up a lot of time in my calendar.
Will this look good and make me stand out in the Early College applications starting in sophomore year? Will it have no effect?
Thank you for reading this. One of my largest concerns regarding college is extracurriculars, because I am not in any sports or clubs (in part due to anxiety, to a lesser extent, some laziness).

You’re fine. Please enjoy your first high school summers, I hate how much the college admissions scare has plagued people’s ability to enjoy high school experiences. I don’t think I did anything significant until sophomore year, and that’s what I’ve seen in a lot of my successful friends. Just keep exploring your passions, for your own interest and not to appeal to colleges, and you’ll be fine

2 Likes

Okay, thank you!
But do you think this would potentially be helpful?

My older daughter just completed her first year in a DVM program, so we have some experience with this. There are a few other parents on this web site who also have kids who are in veterinary programs.