Answering questions

<p>Hi! I'm a New Student Orientation leader this year. If anyone has any burning questions about L&C, just ask. I'm willing to speak candidly about any aspect of life at Lewis & Clark.</p>

<p>Aloha,</p>

<p>Oooh, I love Wasabi…we cannot get enough of it here in Hawaii.</p>

<p>D stats:
ACT-31, GPA 4.4. Not a lot of ECs, spends majority of her free time writing. Currently working on a couple novels; one may be completed by end of summer. Her sport is Paddling (Hawaiian outrigger canoes), but is in a Rowing (crew) Camp this summer to get a feel if that would be something she might pursue. Potential Majors: Biology, Psychology, and Creative Writing.</p>

<p>The problem she has (and I somewhat concur) is that “every college looks and feels the same”. The brochures are all the same. Their websites all look the same. They all have a Quad and an Old Main building. So, Wasabi, I have two burning questions:

1. What is special about Lewis & Clark that no other college can compare?
  2. Weather? In your opinion, how much of an affect does it have on the student psyche after months of clouds?</p>

<p>FYI…My D and I have scheduled a visit at L&C for 6/27. Will you be leading tours then? Also, she is in the Fir Acres Writing Camp there from 7/1-7/13 and is very excited to attend.</p>

<p>Mahalo</p>

<p>Honestly, LC is a beautiful green campus with extensive, well maintained gardens centered around a turn of the century Tudor style mansion. </p>

<p>Just like any other Lib Arts college, class sizes are generally very small (most classes outside of the science department cap at around 20-25, and that’s generally a larger class)
The Biology department is amazing; there are many talented, enthusiastic professors, and so many opportunities for research and outside involvement in their work. It is actually what drew me to LC (I’m a biochem major)</p>