Any actual Geneseo Students out there?

<p>In deciding where to go it is helpful to hear from actual students occasionally.Most all other college forums have tons of insights from actual students and this one doesn't.We all know the school is in the middle of nowhere and has friendly people but what is it really like? What about dorms,food, classes,competition,job placement,school spirit,fraternities etc.?In other words what makes this place worth a first choice.What is good and what is bad? I am also looking to find out about mid year transition experiences for potential January admission. Where are the students who love it and why and where are those who are disappointed and why?</p>

<p>I'm a freshman and currently in my second semester here at Geneseo. I was pretty ambivalent about coming here but glad I did. Facts...The classes I have taken have been filled with a lot of intelligent students (yes we do have our duds but there is an overwhelming about of smart kids attending here). Homework load is big, but doable. It is a very politically liberal college (sigh). In terms of dorms-the majority of first year students are placed in south village (a NICE WALK FROM THE ACADEMIC BUILDINGS-but keeps you in shape)-ideally you want to live on north/central campus (suites and corridor style-opt for a suite) which is closer to the academic buildings as well as the frats. Fraternities and sororities are a big thing on campus-i think they're are around 10 fraternities and you can find the majority if students at them on thursday/friday/saturday... Food is, well it's college food, enough said (not great, but not bad). IT IS IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE!!!! That's the real downside-wegmans and walmart are the "hotspots" on weekdays...I hope this was helpful</p>

<p>Thanks, Any information is helpful.</p>

<p>Is it possible to have an active social life without joining a frat?</p>