Anyone interested in Raikes this year?

Raikes is one of the programs my D20 is interested in for next year. I’m just wondering whether anyone here applied or has heard anything this year.

The Raikes program is long closed for this year (2023) if she is interested then there are some summer programs she can apply to and attend ran by their program and start taking computer programs ASAP. If you get a chance go to the Nebraska Campus day next month - we did and got to meet the team behind Raikes and learn more about it. I would send my child hands down there over many larger schools. My son decided against Raikes because of his area of focus but as a woman in tech myself - one of the best programs i’ve ever seen.

Thanks, @HHSMomx2, that’s good information. By closed, do you mean that they’ve had interviews, selected the recipients and the deadline for response has passed? I ask because D20’s current first choice is USC and they don’t typically give a decision until late March.

1 Like

Correct. Closed for Freshman in Fall of '19. Interviews are complete and notifications sent. Hope that helps.

just if you’re interested: my 2020 kiddo attended an info session about Raikes for 2020. They said about 200 apply; 100 are interviewed and 40 get in. Average ACT is 33; but you can apply with a low 30. It’s a good program!

Thanks, @bgbg4us! It really does sound like a good program, and those odds are a lot better than most programs of that type! I’ve read a bunch about it, but what about it appeals most to you?

To your question of what appeals to me: multiple key disciplines represented, links to business and internships, cohort association/community and strong Raikes leadership. Are you a NE resident? URM or female? Strong comp sci EC’s? 33+ACT? Leadership roles?

I’m the parent. She is not a NE resident.