AP as a Independent Study Student

Heyo! I am an Independent Studies student, and my school offers no AP or IB classes, and I am applying next year as a Sociology major.

I have taken 10 AP tests - all 5’s, the ACT and got a composite 36, and I might take the SAT, I got a 1520 on the PSAT my Freshman year, but never got merit because you apparently need to take in junior year to get national merit, and I was too lazy to retake it tbh.

I took these APs

AP English Language and Composition

AP Biology

AP Statistics

AP Calculus BC

AP Comparative Government and Politics

AP European History

AP Human Geography

AP United States Government and Politics

AP United States History

AP World History

And I might take Spanish Language (I am a English Learner, first language is Spanish, and grew up in Mexico up until age 7 ish, but American Citizen as I was born in California) and Latin (learned it in 5th and 6th grade, I was obsessed with Percy Jackson) and Chinese (my father and brother studied Chinese and so I learned a lot, and will study more on it to take the exam).

I might also take environmental science and physics 1 algebra based.

Since my school doesn’t offer any classes above honors, would it look better on my transcript if I had my AP scores? Would having self studied tests help me?

Should my supplemental essays explain this?

Thank you

No, no, and no.

You will never be penalized for not taking classes that are not offered by your school. Colleges really don’t care about self-studied AP classes. They are trying to build communities of students with varied interests and are not impressed by test-taking drones. Every minute you spent studying for an independent exam is a minute you could have spent developing interests and talents that are something other than trying to impress admissions staff!

2 Likes