Apartment Apprehension

<p>Hey everyone. I'm currently a sophomore at UW-Madison. I lived in Lakeshore last year and I'm currently living in Sellery this year for a few reasons. First, it's mainly because the apartment thing didn't work out. Friends from back home that went here broke off into groups and kinda left me out of the talk, especially since I was one of the few not living in Southeast. I had a backup plan with a group of guys from Lakeshore, but they ended up signing the lease without so much as mentioning anything to me about touring or anything. I had nowhere else to go and since I'm a business student, I picked Sellery since I'm right across the street from Grainger, and I wanted to see the other side of the dorm life experience.</p>

<p>It's going alright so far, but I still feel worried and apprehensive at times. I don't feel like I really fit in (for obvious reasons) and I'm worried that I'll just be wandering around desperately looking for people that might be open to the idea of me living with them, since I'm having a hard time making any real close friends. I feel like trying to suddenly become super social or join student orgs isn't exactly a simple solution at this point, and I don't want to live in the dorms a 3rd year or end up living alone...I'd lose my mind. :( I have a great girlfriend here but other than that my social life is really weak since I rarely talk much with anyone I met last year, and I don't feel like I'm making many connections on my floor or...anywhere in general, really.</p>

<p>I could just really use some advice on finding a sense of belonging and connecting with people more so that I'm not left out...I'm in no rush to sign a lease by any means, I know better than to do that with people I've only known 3 months...but that's what I said last year and before I knew it, it was late February/early March and I had nobody to live with... :( Thanks in advance for any thoughts you'd be willing to provide on this issue.</p>