Applying for BSN program

I live in California, my cumulative GPA including my prerequisites is at a 3.4 I also have no experience with volunteering at hospitals. This Fall, I am planning on applying to BSN programs in California but have heard it is very competitive and I truly think I won’t make it in. Can I get some advice about OOS BSN programs that are not that competitive to get into? I am willing to go to near by states such as Nevada, Oregon, and Arizona for school. I’m kinda new to this, so any tips or advice about getting into nursing school would be greatly appreciated

I’d still apply to in-state publics, but also apply to out of states. One issue is affordability. Check to see if any states have reciprocity agreeents with california. That allows students from one state to receive reduced tuition at public colleges in a nearby state.

Some states have affordable out of state tuition, while other states have very expensive oos tuition at some or all of their colleges.

Run the net price calculator for each college that you might consider. That will help to narrow down your choices to what is in your price range. Some college emphasize need based aid, and others emphasize merit aid. Merit aid is usually available to out of state students. Need based aid is usually not available to out of state students at most public colleges. Many private colleges offer aid that reduces their price to be within the ballpark of public colleges for many students.

I’d also check out the community college option. I don’t know Calif., but in some states, some community college nursing programs have transfer agreements to allow you to get a BSN at a public college after you finish your community college degree. Be sure to check for a nursing matriculation agreement - because the standard matriculation often does not cover BSN transfers.