Applying to different colleges

Is there any way to apply to more than 20 colleges?? The common app allows only to apply to 20 colleges max, but I’m an international student who needs a lot of financial aid, and I have a lot of time to devote to a lot of applications, so I want to increase my chances as much as I can.

PS: I do NOT, in any way intend to ask for an illegal or fraudulent method. I’m only wondering whether there is a legal way to do this.

common app
coalition app (equivalent to the commonapp, but not all colleges accept it)
and of course some colleges provide an opportunity or even require to apply through their personal websites (mit, georgetown, babson etc.)

1 Like

If you need financial aid, you probably qualify through Questbridge. It’s a really good program that you should look into. Don’t apply to the same college twice through different websites.

Thanks!! This was helpful :smiley::grinning:

Wow. I did not realize international students could use questbridge as well. Thanks a lot!!!

If you are an international student living abroad I do not believe you are eligible for Questbridge:

International students living outside the U.S. are not eligible to apply to the National College Match.. https://questbridge.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/218776877-Can-I-apply-to-the-National-College-Match-if-I-am-not-a-U-S-Citizen-or-Permanent-Resident-

I would also caution you against applying to over 20 schools. Beside the common app essay, each school will have their own individual essays. Some schools can have three or more school specific essays. Sometimes there will be even more for honors college programs and merit awards. My D applied to 8 schools and wrote 19 essays. Don’t underestimate the time it will take to craft a well written essay. Schools want to see that you match with them not just academically but also will fit into their unique community.