Applying to medical school following PhD

Hello. I’m beginning a Biochemistry PhD this Fall with the knowledge that I will apply to medical school during the tail end of the program. I’ve applied twice before and was rejected twice. My first application was admittedly rushed and mediocre. My second application was improved and I completed a medical masters but was still rejected. During my PhD, what should I do to ensure I’ve done as much as possible to give my third (and probably final) shot the best chances? What type of volunteering and clinical activities should I pursue? I will have to sit for the MCAT again and wonder, in what score range should I aim? I know graduate GPA is not weighted heavily but I hope 4-5 years of PhD work and a high MCAT will outweigh my shaky undergrad performance. My graduate school has a medical school and I wonder if I should try to network to increase my chances of matriculating there? I’m open to advice because I know I don’t know everything about building the strongest application. Thanks for reading!

@WayOutWestMom do medical schools look at graduate school grades at all?

1 Like

Does the program you are in tend to produce PhD graduates in the 4-5 year time frame…as a median or a best case scenario? When looking for this data, you’ll need to subtract any MD/PhD students, as they complete the PhD portion faster in average than the other students (for various reasons). Overall, among middle-aged doctors, there are a not insignificant number who had a PhD before going to MD, but most of them (that I’ve known) are foreign medical graduates, so the reasons for that order of events (and how the timing worked) were specific and not applicable to Americans.

I’m not sure. I know medical masters grades are considered but I believe PhD grades would have less weight. I know graduate and undergraduate GPAs are separated in AMCAS.

Most PhD students defend and complete in 4-5 years.