Are many ED or EA deferrals to RD "courtesy deferrals"?

At colleges that defer a large percentage of non-admitted ED or EA applicants to RD, do all of the deferred applicants truly have another chance of admission in RD, or are some of them obvious (to the college) rejects who are given “courtesy deferrals” and have no real chance of admission during RD?

2 Likes

I suspect that the unknown of the volume of RD applications leads them to be pretty conservative with rejections.

There are almost certainly students that won’t be admitted RD…unless RD applications fall well short of projections. They are deferred in case that actually happens.

I’m no expert with numbers, but I wrote this post a couple of years ago after doing a fair bit of research. Why it's so hard to get into an under 15% acceptance rate school

That post was based on numbers at Cornell. It seemed that about 15% of deferred applicants were accepted in the RD round. So I think that a deferral isn’t always a polite rejection, but I also don’t think it’s a high enough number for anyone to count on getting in after being deferred.

I also think there plenty of colleges where the deferred applicant really has almost no chance. I think U Mich is notorious for this. They seem to defer everyone these days, and I don’t think many of those students get in. I haven’t investigated that.

I am sure that a lot of tippy top colleges defer people they have no intention of admitting, as a means of soft rejection. There are so many children of alumni applying to tippy tops these days. They can’t admit all of them.

1 Like

So if a kid gets deferred from ED1, would it make sense to lock into an ED2 school? Or save hope for ED1?

@Lindagaf Still need to read your thread, but couldn’t a 15% shot after deferral compete with an ED2 chance somewhere else?

1 Like

An ED or EA applicant will be put in one of three categories by the college:

1. Clear admit → admitted.
  2. Borderline → deferred.