Are Pre-APs worth it when applying to UCs?

I am aware that the UCs don’t give extra weight to pre-ap courses, and that when the UC calculates your gpa, they are counted as regular courses.

I am a sophomore in 4 pre-ap courses, 2 ap courses (the maximum at my school for sophomores) and one on level (debate, which is not even considered in the UCs calculations).

I had a very bad freshman year (I lived in Canada where school system is different, ended with 3.4 gpa which I am aware is abysmal.) for this reason I am very interested in the UCs, which do not factor in freshman grades when calculating gpa.

I am performing very well in all my classes (out of these seven, I have a perfect 100 in six). And of course, I am going to prepare very well for my SAT and ACT. I am also going to take as many APs as possible in my high school career.

My question is: is taking pre-ap courses worth the extra course load for no extra gpa boost from the UCs?

Are the Pre-AP courses required to take the corresponding AP classes next year?
UC’s will look at your transcript as a whole so if you are taking the most rigorous course schedule at your High School for Sophomore year which includes the Pre-AP’s, then they are worth taking.

The pre-APs are not required to take the coresponding APs. When you are applying they don’t see your transcript (they receive it later), you self enter grades. Do you know if when doing this, there is an option to mention the level of a class even if it is not AP/IB?

When you enter your courses on the UC application, you have to list them exactly as listed on your transcript.

Pre-AP is not an option on the drop down.

There are still courses at all High Schools that are labeled “Honors” but not UC approved, and are still considered rigorous for that students level. Unfortunately, it is what it is but I would assume a Pre-AP class would better prepare you to do well in the corresponding AP course Junior and Senior year.