As a person of color, does it actually matter how diverse a college is when picking schools? Have you personally benefited from being in a diverse college environment or interacting with people different from you?

(I posted this in both college life and college search)

TLDR: I don’t see why it matters if I go to a diverse college or not (racially & ethnically or otherwise). Just read the two bullet points at the bottom.

I’m a Community College student that has been thinking about transferring, and thinking about how much diversity (mainly race & ethnicity but also in other ways) matters for the college experience. I’m Bengali American, I don’t practice religion nor do anything cultural, I’m more like your typical American in that sense I guess. While my CC is only 40% white, I’ve been doing it all online so far.

I’ve always heard that diversity is important but can’t tell exactly why it matters for my college experience. I grew up in a diverse city (I don’t wanna say which one, but it’s even called “a diversity bubble.” My high school was 38% white, but it was well known that students of color were concentrated in low level classes and vice versa (I was surrounded by white students in most classes, but I didn’t care at all). The one low level class I did in high school (in 9th grade) was the only one with more POC than white students (only 2 of them). I don’t think any diversity I’ve been exposed to has had any or much of an effect in my life. In fact, I think I would be relatively the same person even if my city and school system had a much higher percentage of white people.