Ask a UM student

<p>Im currently a sophomore at the UM. If anyone has any questions about anything miami related feel free to ask. This website helped me alot when I was trying to make my decision so I decided to pay it back. Im a business administration major here. Ask away. </p>

<p>My friend told me the college felt like a prison when he visited since the buildings on campus are very modern. I’m not believing exactly what he says, but I’ve seen the campus and I sort of get what he means. I plan on doing a tour, but I have to wait until the New Year. I just wanted to know what you thought the campus was like and maybe how the social aspect has been so far for you. Keep in mind I have been to college tours at UF (I definitely could see myself there) and UCF (pretty nice too) Thank you!!!</p>

<p>How do you like it there? How big of a party school is it truly?</p>

<p>Also a student here. I’ll answer a few questions because, like ChillinMiami, this site was super helpful in figuring out the whole college thing.</p>

<p>Schweini31 - The campuses are super modern for sure. Your friend is probably referring to the dorms, which are kinda prison-y. The main reason for that is because of the whole “hurricane” thing. The buildings are made to withstand nature, seeing as Miami is kinda dangerous in hurricane season. </p>

<p>Personally, I love the campus. It ended up being the deciding factor for me. The fact that you can study on the edge of a gorgeous lake or under big, shady trees really got to me. The only way to know for sure is to visit, though. </p>

<p>The social aspect is great. There is always something going on on campus and it’s really easy to make friends. There are a ton of clubs that you can get involved with and everyone is really welcoming. </p>