Ask about Lawrenceville

I figured since we have a few Lawrenceville acceptances on this board, it might be worth creating a thread here.

A bit about myself: I’m currently a junior day student, and I started here before Covid. Despite being a day student, I’m pretty engaged on campus (the earliest I return on any given day is 8:00 PM); I really appreciate how much effort the School puts into integrating us into campus life.

Aside from me, cityran’s child is a current sophomore, and sgopal2’s child graduated a few years back; they might have some alternative perspectives.

4 Likes

My son was a 4 year boarder, graduated in 2018. Happy to answer questions.

Hi my son was accepted into Lawrenceville and we are trying to decide if life as a day student makes it more stressful. We live 30 mins away. Do day students regularly need to be picked up at 10 - could they study at home instead of study hall? I am also wondering about the friends/student body etc. We are coming from a public middle school and I am just wondering how inclusive etc it is. It is important to us that our son stays grounded above all.

Yes. Check-in is at 8:00 for freshmen-juniors, so pretty much all clubs stop their meetings by then. There’s no reason to stay for study hall; the rules are fairly strict, and it’s just generally a lot more pleasant to work at home. I’d say that the main exception is if you do theater, where during tech weeks (there’s 4 stage productions and 3 dance productions a year), you’ll regularly be there until 9:00 PM.

On Saturdays, the typical pick-up is 11:00 PM, though, as people like to participate in the Saturday night activity, hang out with friends, and eat the feed.