Ask questions about Binghamton here!

Hey everyone! I’m a freshman at Binghamton (currently procrastinating studying), and I’ll answer any questions that you ask.

MODERATOR’S NOTE: Anyone is free to ask or answer questions in this thread. It is not the place, however, to ask for chances.

@laurclassof2021

Thanks so much for the offer. I guess the two questions that I have are where do you think a freshman should live?. Also, how do you find BING in terms of rigor? My son got accepted to the SOM a few weeks ago and is very excited. I always wonder how cut throat BING is. Finally, with regard to the gen ed courses, any recommendations on courses to take etc and professors would be great. He knows to look at rate my professors, but he wants somewhat interesting courses so he can get off to a good start with his gpa. THANKS!!

When I attended big State U in the 80s, generally the liberal arts kids partied while the engineering/business school/pre-med kids studied. Have you found this to be the case at Bing?

@euve69 I live in Mountainview, and I believe that it’s the best community. It has huge suites that usually have 4-6 people, and you get your own bathroom. It’s really nice if you have a connection with your suitemates. If not Mountainview, I would probably live in Dickinson, but they have hallways rather than common rooms.

In terms of rigor, I would say it’s pretty difficult. I’m an engineering major, so some of the courses I’m taking require a lot of work. I’m currently taking Calc 2, which can be difficult for some people, but there’s a huge curve (an 87 is an A for this semester). I have Walter Carlip for the class, and he is pretty terrible in my opinion. The math department at Bing is truly lacking because most of the teachers are TAs, and you can’t understand a lot of them. It’s really a hit or miss, but everyone I know has had to teach themselves calculus.