Astrophysics at slc?

hey there! i’m a prospective student for the slc class of '23. for the most part, i’m totally sold on the school. i love the location/academic model/community, and they clearly have strong departments for two of my primary interests, filmmaking & creative writing.

the only issue is that im also really interested in physics and especially in astrophysics (a pretty strange interest to have alongside filmmaking and creative writing, i know. but hey, i can’t control what im passionate about!), and from what i can tell, well… there’s not much that i can tell. i know they have natural sciences, but they seem to be a lot more arts-centered and therefore don’t advertise a lot of information about their programs in the natural sciences.

is it possible to study astrophysics at slc? have people done it? do people do it? what kind of resources do they have for it? is it reasonable to go to slc if i might want to have a career in astrophysics one day (would anyone in the field hire me having gone to a school without majors)?

any info you have helps. thanks!

If you love everything about SLC and want to do astrophysics, you may want to work with them to see how you can supplement the program to ensure that it’s as robust as possible.

Before agreeing to attend SLC – find out if you can perhaps–

• get internships in labs nearby to do research
  • go on an exchange or summer program to do this sort of work, say at the Oak Ridge facility in Tennessee (I'm pretty sure they have that specialty there but if not then maybe there's another opportunity)
  • do research at SLC -- ask a professor what she or he is working on currently and see if you can get on board.
  • do an exchange program to another campus for a semester and focus.