ASU Barrett or U of A Honors for Aspiring PA?

I am an Arizona resident and am having such a hard time choosing. I have heard great things about Barrett but also that U of A is a better “pre med” school. I really have no idea. I have visited both and I am somewhat turned off by ASU’s campus but that is not a big deal. U of A is beautiful, but I really just want to go wherever has the best academics and opportunities for me going into the medical field. HELP

In terms of overall academics and in pre-med and opportunities (like research, shadowing and volunteering), UA is better hands-down. However, Barrett at ASU is actually better than the honors college at UA (thanks to how ASU focuses primarily on its honors students as opposed to UA which cares about all students in general). Don’t get me wrong, UA honors is a great place to study. I am attending UA honors right now and I absolutely love it.

Based on what you indicated your interests are, I would say UA is the better option for you. UA even has a pre-med dorm (Graham-Greenlee) which you may also want to consider along with the two honors dorms at UA. However, don’t be too quick to turn down Barrett as it provides good opportunities for pre-meds as well. If you have any additional questions, feel free to ask or message! :slight_smile:

I don’t know, U of A doesn’t seem as prestigious. But that may not be true

No @alord1234 State Universities tend not to be that ‘prestigious’, they are designed to support students from that state to gain an undergraduate degree. Prestige often comes from ‘selective admissions’, only of state Universities only UC Cal & UCLA tend to have selectivity.

U of A tends to be a little more ‘respected’ in Arizona as they do have a real ‘pre-med’ and ‘pre-pharm’ programs with UMC internships and the like, ASU can work but you will probably find it easier to assimilate into a pre-pharm or Med program through UofA.