BA vs BFA/BM at Florida State

I am a prospective Musical Theatre student. I was rejected from FSU’s Musical Theatre program, however, I am still interested in their programs and their school, mostly because I am a practicing circus artist and they have one of the few circus programs in the country. I am also considering BA programs in my search, with double majoring or minoring in music (theory/composition) or dance, which the BA program would give me the flexibility to do.

However, what I really want in college is TRAINING, and how much musical training can I get if I am a BA student as opposed to a BFA or BM student? Can I still take dance classes and vocal lessons? Dance is very important to me, as it is probably what I am strongest at in the MT world, and so are voice lessons, as I am not as strong a singer as many others and would like to continue training.

Is it possible to still get intense musical theatre training with FSU’s BA in theatre?

@All4FSU should be able to answer all of your questions about their programs.

@All4FSU can you please speak on this?

@kaxamdays
You have asked a complicated question- yes BA Theatre students can certainly take dance classes and private voice lessons. Yes, there are BA students who are incredibly talented and will undoubtably go on to have successful professional careers in performance.
The difference in the programs lies in the intended outcome: The BFA is designed to produce students who can compete professionally upon graduation as performers. The BA program is designed to allow students the opportunity to explore theatre and encourages them to participate in multiple aspects of the art form. The BFA has very little flexibility (for instance, they can’t participate in the circus due to time conflicts) while the BA has a great deal.