Bama Students

I have been wanting to go to the University of Alabama for quite some time now, but looking at reviews online I have found some things that worry me a little bit. A little about myself, I am an A student. I love football, country music, hunting, and fishing. Truth is, while I am not like a total redneck, I am kind of a country boy. I understand that in any flagship university there is going to be a large diverse student body, but the reviews I am reading suggest that almost everyone there is fratty and fancy. I just don’t know if I will fit in there. Any comments about whether or not this is true or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Short answer fron an Asian guy whos not in frat and not fancy but happy:Resounding NO. You will find people who are fit to be your friends

Haha I was starting to think I wouldn’t fit in. Thanks for replying

In a university as large as UA, it would be pretty difficult to NOT find someone who has the same likes and hobbies as you do.

Yes - a large, very diverse student body! My son (a UA student) is in NO way remotely “fratty” or “fancy” … comfortable just being himself… Don’t worry – there are plenty of guys there that do their own thing and dress as they are most comfortable. Lots of country music lovers there, too! (And yes, I did see some guys walking around during finals week in their rather short, flat-front, non-khaki colored shorts! But I saw MORE of them in other more “normal” types of shorts, and jeans.)