Banking in Madison

<p>I'm an out of state student from New York and I currently use Chase. Does anyone know is there's a Chase bank in Madison?</p>

<p>No. </p>

<p>An easy way to check on local banks is to search "madison, wi banks" on Google. I just did and a site with a list of the banks shows up on the first Google page, Yahoo has a site rating them, also. We used Associated Bank for our son years ago because it was convenient in our hometown. Wells Fargo works for those from the west. I don't know if any of the Madison banks are branches of east coast banks- I didn't see any. </p>

<p>Years ago banks couldn't even have branches across town, much less in the same state or cross country. I have heard student complaints about banks; the most important feature for you will be the location of banks and TYME machines (to avoid extra cash machine charges). You could do this when you come to campus, along with the other zillions of things to do and people trying to do the same thing. Remember you will be able to use your Wiscard at the University Bookstore, campus places and the dorms so you will be able to eat, buy books and such. You may be able to use your current bank card to get cash at Union TYME machines without extra bank charges. I do know you can get by without needing to write checks- dorm desks and the Unions may be able to cash OOS checks. One resource to check is the booklet you get at SOAR.</p>

<p>Interesting, hard to believe there's no Chase bank in Madison. </p>

<p>I'm planning on opening an account with a local bank there, because I currently do all my banking through my dad's credit union with his job (great rates). Problem with that is that I have to mail them checks to cash them and their online banking is pretty pitiful.</p>

<p>Actually there are a number of Chase branches in Madison, including a location on the Capitol Square. JP Morgan Chase took over the Bank One locations a few years ago.</p>