Benefit to finishing major preperation courses while in high school?

Hi all! So I am a high school student, but I attend a program at a local california community college where I get both HS and college credit for my classes.

I will most likely major in something environmental, but from a humanities perspective instead of only STEM (ex: society and environment, EEP, Environmental studies BA.) I know that if I stay another year or two after high school at my CCC and apply as a transfer student to a UC, I will have to complete some general ed requirements and major preperation courses before transferring. (huge shoutout to assist . org)

My question is: If I complete (and get good grades in) my major preperation courses and apply as a college freshman (not a transfer student) during the fall of my senior year of HS, would that be an advantage over other high school senior applicants?

My dream school would be UC Berkeley, either in the college of letters and science or college of natural resources. Other great alternatives would be UC santa barbara and UC santa cruz.

Thank you!

The benefit of completing your college GE’s is that you would start college with Sophomore or higher standing, allowing to you to complete your degree in a shorter amount of time or allow you to pursue a double major/minor or other areas of interest beyond your degree.

Will it be an advantage as a Freshman applicant? That really depends upon on how your HS course rigor compares to your fellow HS classmates and to the other applicants applying to the UC’s. Academic Rigor is only one area of criteria considered by the UC’s, but it is highly valued.

There is no disadvantage in taking college courses other than they will be on your permanent college record and thus have to be disclosed when applying to Professional or Graduate schools so getting good grades is very important.

4 Likes