Binghamton University for Teaching or transfer?

Hi, I’m a first semester sophomore currently currently attending Binghamton University. As I desire to become a special education English teacher, and the fact that Binghamton does not have an education program, I have pretty much decided to transfer schools. I figured out that since BU only has an education minor, I would be in school for at least 1.5 more years here as opposed to if I transfer somewhere else.

I was accepted to SUNY Geneseo for next semester with a $5,000 scholarship per year. I’m still waiting to find out whether I got into the education program, though. If I go to Geneseo I can be certified to teach adolescent English education in 2.5 years from now, and then go straight into a masters degree in special education. So in total that would be about 4 years left in my academic career. (Plus, I want to do speech pathology eventually so that gives me some more time to do that). If I stay at Bing, I won’t be certified to teach English until 4 years from now, and then would need additional time to get a special ed masters.

I’m hesitant about leaving, however, because I don’t know if the transfer will be worth losing my life here. I have friends who are like family and a boyfriend who I love dearly. Plus, I just know what it is like here. I don’t like how the school is so STEM-oriented, though. I know that this is ultimately my decision but I’ve been very depressed lately about this reality even though I think Geneseo will benefit my future. Can anyone provide me with any insight/opinions? Thanks!

Hi Mooswag,

If I were you, I would definitely transfer. Bing is a fine school. In fact, my son who is a jr in high school will be applying to Bing as well as other schools since he is interested in accounting/business. As you are well aware, Bing has a great business program. However, in your case, Bing does not even have a major in education. Why would you want to stay there?