Biology Major?

I was wondering if anyone could help me better understand the biology majors at UW- Madison. I have the intension of going to medical school, so I am not sure which major would provide me the best background for medical school. I am not sure if the general biology major would or if something more specialized like biochem or molecular biology would be best. Thank you!

Literally any major will do for medical school. Premed is an intention. You need to take the required courses for admission to medical school plus those for your major and any other U requirements. Many major in a science because they like it and many science major requirements also meet medical school admission requirements. That is all you need to do to prepare. The medical school courses will teach you what you need to become a physician. I’m a physician who liked and majored in chemistry eons ago. I took all sorts of nonmedically related classes not only to meet UW breadth requirements but for my own education/fun/interests. These included Art History and Symphony classes which enhanced my ability to understand those arts.

So- choose whichever major, biology or not, that most appeals to you. Once you are at UW you will start with many of the same STEM classes needed for most science majors/medical school. You can change/refine your major as you learn more about them and your interest in them. I know a math major from UW who became a physician- we chemistry majors figured she could finish in 3 years partly because of her brilliance but also because she didn’t have our time consuming labs (my chem friends went to grad schools).

The Honors program has some excellent sequences in math, chemistry, physics and biology (Biocore). Biocore still requires Organic Chemistry and hence would not be a starting course. Look at these and decide if any suit you- ability, interest et al.