Biology/pre-medical student fielding your questions!

<p>Hey, everyone.</p>

<p>I am currently a sophomore biology student at Alabama. Without giving too much away, I am involved in a few research programs and other extracurricular activities both on- and off-campus. I would be happy to answer any questions about UA, Honors College, life in Tuscaloosa, myself or my experiences, or anything else you might want to ask. As far as academics go, I can only speak authoritatively on science majors in Arts and Sciences and ChemE, but I do try to stay up-to-date about faculty, majors, courses, and research in all other colleges and departments within the University.</p>

<p>And with that, I look forward to hearing from you!</p>

<p>Hi; thank you for making this thread!
In regard to pre med, do you think it is a bad idea that my major is in political science and I’m only minoring in biology? Also, is it possible to be on two pre professional tracks? I was looking into some JD/MD grad programs, so I was toying with the idea of doing pre law and pre med if that’s even possible. Is the New College something I should look into for this?</p>

<p>RollTideBio,
are you In-state or OOS resident? how is the health advising program and have you taken advantage of shadowing at UA?
Roll Tide</p>

<p>Pre-law isn’t anything. Any major can be pre-law. There are NO req’d classes for being pre-law. So your question about whether you can be both prelaw and premed isn’t really relevant. Some majors offer a prelaw track, but prelaw is NOTHING like premed. Prelaw has NO REQUIRED classes…NONE.</p>

<p>You can be premed, take the premed prereqs, and if you decide to go to law school instead, then fine. You won’t be missing any classes because prelaw doesn’t have any req’d classes.</p>

<p>As far as your choice of major and being premed. Your choice of major is irrelevant. You do NOT have to minor in Bio. Med schools do NOT care if you major in bio or if you minor in bio. Totally irrelevant.</p>