Block Schedules!!!

<p>Hi guys :)
I'm an international student highly interested in applying to Colorado College for ED</p>

<p>How are the block schedules? Any comments will be appreciated!</p>

<p>Immersion is what it is all about. One class for 3.5 weeks so blocks are fast paced and intense. Some classes are more time intensive than others so for sure there is a difference between taking organic chemistry (with lab) vs. art history. But flexibility is key to the block plan- classes take lots of field trips (nice to learn geology in the field). You can take an entire semester abroad or go for just one block. CC has been on the block plan for decades and I think they have successfully made the block plan an appealing alternative to the traditional trimester/semester system. </p>

<p>The up side of the Block Plan is just like what Ir4550 described. But it’s very important to also take the down side into consideration. For example, on a semester plan missing a couple of lectures or missing a whole week is still manageable since you will have several months to recover and catch up. on the Block Plan missing one week or simply three days more often than not means that you have to drop the class. I don’t think this happens because students lacks the motivation to catch up, rather, it’s simply because the time frame is so short that it is simply impossible to catch up.</p>

<p>I learned form faculty member at Colorado College that the Block Plan tends to cause far more anxiety and stress than the traditional semester plan. According to Fiske’s guide “overburning”, for example having 3 hours of lecture about calculus a day and have 5 plus hours homework on it as well, is also a very serious issue to consider. I am a first year student at CC. You are very welcome to ask me more questions. Wish you the best of luck in your college application.</p>

<p>:) </p>

<p>Thank you two for such detailed replies :slight_smile: