Cal Poly San Luis Obispo - apply ASAP?

A person who I would think was in the know mentioned to me that Cal Poly SLO runs admissions almost rolling, so your chances are better when you apply as soon as the app opens. Has anyone ever heard that before? (My son will apply for Mechanical or Aero Eng)

Any idea how they can possibly make decisions this year without test scores or essays? Is it just a GPA contest?

I haven’t heard anything about the pseudo-rolling admissions thing you talked about.

I know that Cal Poly’s admissions are already very algorithmic in nature, so I would assume this year is going to be very close to a GPA contest (with the other considerations they award point value included as well). But I’m no expert here. Can someone more in the know confirm this for me? I too am very curious.

I don’t believe so, but @Gumbymom or @eyemgh may be able to answer this question.

Rigor of coursework, extracurricular activities, volunteer work, work experience, first generation, geography are all considered in admissions, according to their CDS.

No “Rolling Admissions” boxes are checked, as of last year’s admission class.

Given that their “Dates and Deadlines” page has specific dates and no mention of rolling admission, I’d trust that over “ A person who I would think was in the know” unless that person is in the admissions office.

No rolling admissions to any of the CSU’s. You can apply anytime between now and the November 30th deadline. No advantage to applying early other than one less application to worry about. Just do not wait until the last minute.

https://www.calpoly.edu/admissions/first-year-student/selection-criteria

SLO in past years started releasing decisions in February. Usually OOS and International applicants heard first, then in-state followed by waitlisted applicants and finally rejections. This process extended well into April-May last year.

Sorry for the late reply. I’m rarely on CC anymore.