Cal Poly SLO (CS) vs UIUC (ECE) vs Purdue (DS) vs Uni of Maryland College Park (CS)

Hi everyone! I am an admitted student to Cal poly SLO for CS or UIUC for ECE or Purdue for Data Science and Uni of Marland College Park for CS. I am a California resident. I am having trouble making a decision. I know Cal Poly is more hands-on and is the lowest in terms of tuition but I’d love to hear suggestions from current and former engineering students or anyone who has insight into these schools. Thanks in advance for any advice, stories, or suggestions!

If you really want CS rather than ECE or Data Science, then be aware that changing into CS at UIUC or Purdue is difficult if it is even possible.

What is your net price at each, and what is the amount available without loans?

2 Likes

UIUC is 62k(Just for the first year got 10k in scholarship so will be 52k first year), Purdue 47K, Cal poly SLO (33K but I have heard 3k scholarship for being NMF so 30K ) and UMD is about 46.5K too(59k tuition but 12.5 scholarship per year as presidential scholar)

1 Like

What do you think you’d get from the others that you wouldn’t get from Cal Poly? Classes are small. You’ll walk out with a ton of coding experience. Amazon has a facility, the first of its kind, affiliated with CP. The top three employers are Apple, Google and Amazon.

2 Likes

Does the ranking of the college matter in securing an interview? By looking at US News national university rankings, I couldn’t compare Cal Poly’s ranking as only research institutions are included in that list. What is the career placement rate at CP?

Rankings don’t matter within a certain echelon. We’re not talking South West Texas State. Cal Poly is HIGHLY regarded for CS. In CA, Harvey Mudd would fall in that category as would Pomona. Besides, rankings aren’t based on any concrete data like placement and salaries.