Cal Poly SLO Quarter Plus

Has anyone attended the Quarter Plus Program? Did you feel that it was worth it? How was your experience in general?

My major is Civil Engineering and I have already been accepted into the Quarter Plus Program.

I want more info too. I have also been accepted to quarter plus and considering attending over summer.

My son is a 3rd year Mechanical Engineering student. He did Q+ and it was great for him. It was very intense (at the time it was only 3 weeks), but it was totally worth it. He got some GE credits out of the way, he met a whole bunch of people, he became familiar with the campus, and he was able to get a sense of what the classes would be like. Also, most of his friends were leaving earlier, so it was a chance to get going with college and not sit around home wishing he could go already.

Hi berkeleymom4 - My son has been accepted for the 2019 Q+ and although I read that your son did the 3 week version, do you know if the kids generally did well in the classes? You mentioned the intensity and it seems a little intimidating as a way to start college…Would your son have any insight into the current Q+ program?Thx

Q+ was just rolling out when my son was a first year and they didn’t have anything applicable to engineering. Thus, I have no first hand experience. I would however say that his final summer, just hanging out with friends from HS was one of his best summers ever, and one not likely to be repeated in his lifetime. We want to always look ahead, get a jump, do what’s “best.” Particularly if they have AP/IB/DE credit, it seems like Q+ steals that last opportunity to just be kids away. Just an alternate perspective. :blush: