Calculator Recommendation for Engineering Freshman

<p>Would parents and students weigh-in with some information before we make this purchase? DS will be in Civil Engineering and CBHP.</p>

<p>I asked this of Dr. Haskew last year. My son already owned a TI-84 from high school. This was his reply</p>

<p>“Regarding the calculator, I am an old school engineer that still uses an HP calculator. However, most of our students use TI devices. While I don’t know the details of the different ones, I did look at the TI web site to see how much I could learn. My first reaction is that the TI-84 will most likely be satisfactory. The big issue is the ability to solve matrix equation and do complex arithmetic. The online description indicates that the TI-84 will do these things. I am sure that the 84 will get him through the first year, and during that time, while interacting with other students, he may discover an alternative calculator that he would prefer. So there is really no need to get a new calculator at this time.”</p>

<p>If you are going to get a new calculator, I would get a TI-30XS with Multiview. A graphing calculator is just not worth the extra expense IMO. Computer programs like Maple and MATLAB, which are available on the computer in the engineering labs, would be better suited for solving matrix equations and complex arithmetic.</p>

<p>Ha ha. I’m laughing because the Chemistry 101* class actually required him to buy and use a basic $10 scientific calculator for some reason (it’s on the book/supply list). For all other classes (math/eng’g) my S used the same TI-84 that he had all through HS, and he sees no reason to buy anything additional.

• I’m sorry, I’m not entirely sure if it was Chemistry or one of the introductory eng’g classes. I tried to look online at the supply list and it says TBD (even for Fall 2012). I remember thinking that they really wanted the students to think about the math problems, rather than just hit a graphing calculator.</p>