Calculus BC or Multivariable Calculus?

<p>I am a freshman in high school.
I am currently in Honors Algebra 2 and have a 97 in it.
I am self-studying AP Calculus AB and am sure that I will get a 5 because I have done practice tests and have gotten many 5s.
Should I take AP Calculus BC or Multivariable Calculus w/ Linear Algebra next year?</p>

<p>With just Calc AB you are missing some concepts that are necessary for Multivariable Calculus. Calc AB = Calc 1 (part of Calc 2 as well, actually), Calc BC = Calc 1 + 2, and Multivariable Calc = Calc 3. You’re missing out on a good portion of calc 2 if you don’t take BC.</p>

<p>I will be self-studying BC over the summer then like with AB.</p>

<p>Make sure you take your Calc I and Calc II tests (and get the credits) so you can be placed in Multivariable. I do not necessarily mean AP credits. Get some sort of credit.</p>

<p>If you’re going to do that during the summer then you should be set. It’s been a year since I’ve taken multivariable calculus but as far as I remember the only really important topics for multivariable that are not covered in Calculus AB are integration by parts and the polar and parametric stuff.</p>

<p>

Series…</p>

<p>Green’s Theorem, Stokes’ Theorem, Divergent Theorem, Triple Integrals…</p>

<p>Niquii, did you do Fourier series?</p>

<p>

Didn’t use them in the class.</p>

<p>

</p>

<p>I don’t see what the rush is, are you trying to complete a math degree before you even finish high school?</p>

<p>@Mint Nope :slight_smile: My teacher knew we were over it so he taught something else XP</p>

<p>I don’t see the point in rushing either. Nobody is going to look at your transcript and say “Calc BC in sophomore year? What a slacker.” I took BC as a soph and multivar as a junior, and going that fast kind of backfired because there were no more math classes for me to take this year, so now I sort of co-teach multivar and tutor BC in lieu of taking an actual math class.</p>