Calm my Fears

<p>Hello there, </p>

<p>I am a current senior looking to go into computer science. I'm an Indiana resident, so Purdue is certainly near the top of my list. However, I do have some reservations... </p>

<p>First and foremost, I go to a rigorous school where a number of students go on to extremely prestigious universities. This environment--although great for me--sometimes distorts perceptions of certain schools. I, like many others, are sucked in by the seductiveness of a top-name university (e.g. UC, Northwestern, Harvard, MIT, Berkeley (hahah I live in Indiana, remember), WashU). But as it turns out, when it comes down to reality, these schools are above my metaphorical price range of intelligence. </p>

<p>I want to study computer science, and I should be pleased that Purdue is in my backyard! But again I, like most students, am really craving that top college. My ACT is a 32 (33,30,34,30) and my GPA a 3.7. These stats seem very conducive to admission at Purude (although if my test scores indicate anything, it's that I should be an English major not an engineer...), but I have a few questions.</p>

<p>Small class size is important to me, and Purdue is a big school. What can I expect on this front? And I'm really wanting to go to an urban college out of state, but of course academics are much more important. Is Purdue a fun environment to live in? Can you attest to the prestige of the CS program? </p>

<p>And on another front, can you suggest other Purdue-esque schools. I feel like, on the ladder of CS schools, we have Purdue up high on the 5th rung, but then 20 rungs to MIT, Harvard, etc. Where is the middle ground? What are those schools in the middle that I can have a chance at?</p>

<p>Thanks</p>

<p>Psalm 34:4</p>

<p>You asked to be calm down… Breathe in and breathe out.</p>

<p>Entry level classes are big, but recitations make up for it. </p>