Can a good essay be a saving grace for top UC's?

<p>I’m pretty confident that my UC essays will be good since I’m a pretty good writer. But will those good essays be a saving grace for a dismal GPA? My UC GPA is around 3.6 (which is pretty low even for the mid-UC’s). I’m applying to five UC’s: Berkeley, Los Angeles, San Diego, Irvine and Davis, as a neuroscience/neurobiology major. Do I have a shot at those schools even with a low UC GPA?</p>

<p>Oh and if anyone’s curious, my SAT scores and extracurriculars are fine. I got a 2210 on the October SAT’s (with an 800 on writing) and am planning on taking it again on December in the hopes of getting a 2300+. I have a fair few officer positions in my extracurriculars, am able to fill in the five awards sections with state-level awards and I even had an internship over the summer and I have one during the school year.</p>

<p>With your high SAT scores, you’re bound to get accepted to one of your UC choices. Especially UCI and UCSD.
I do personally think that the admission essay(s) plays a vital role in your admission, so write a good one haha</p>

<p>Can others give me feedback as well? I especially want to know about my chances at Berkeley and LA as those are my top choices.</p>

<p>Oh and I forgot to mention, I’m an out-of-state’er, which will probably decrease my chances. :/</p>