can i get in?

<p>I'm currently a junior at Wilson SHS, in Washington DC, and I've finally come to the point where I realize that all the slacking I've done, is about to do me in. My grades sucks. There is no way around it. My grades are low. Not because I can't handle the work, but because I chose not to do a lot of it. Although I know it's way too late, and I put myself in this position, I need a little guidance. My GPA after my junior year, will be a cummalitive 2.5. I'm currently taking two AP courses, and at the end of the year, they should read, AP English-B & AP US History-D. Although my grades are bad, I do have my bright spots. I'm an All-Star member of the debate team. I have tons of awards, and statewide recognition. I'm an African American student (Aff. Action?), that attends a great public high school. I have a few widely known teachers that can write very good recommendations for me. My community service hours aren't great, but they're at a steady 150. And my SAT scores are coming in soon, but I think they're pretty good.</p>

<p>I want to major in journalism/communication to become something in the sports field (sports writer, agent, manager, commentator). Do I have a shot at University of Wisconsin-Madison? If not, where should I be looking?</p>

<p>With a 2.5 GPA it will be difficult.</p>

<p>It will be awfully difficult, unless you have great test scores. 30-36 ACT = 30% chance. 28-29 = 20% chance. 26-27 = 10% chance. All of those are in the non-admit category.</p>