Can you get into a top grad school with bad grades early in your undergrad?

I’m majoring in statistics with a certificate in math, but I didn’t declare that until the end of my junior year. Before that, I got terrible grades and almost flunked out because I just had no motivation, but deciding on what I want to do has completely turned that around for me; I love statistics and I’ve gotten A’s in all my core classes. Right now, I’m on my fifth and second-to-last year of undergrad. My GPA over my final four or five semesters should be well over a 3.5, but my cumulative will definitely stay below a 3.0. Maybe even below a 2.5! To really show how much effort I can put in, I’m planning on taking 18 credits for the next two semesters, almost all advanced math and statistics courses, and I’m even going to work full time over winter break and summer so I can afford to take off work during those semesters and focus only on school so I can get all or nearly all A’s. If all goes as planned, I’ll also be starting a research position with a professor during that time. But that isn’t guaranteed.

I’m not worried at all about how well I’ll do with those classes, it sounds like fun to me. My concern is that I didn’t put in the effort and got the grades for a long enough time. My dream schools are Columbia and Cornell, but would they want someone who slacked off until later in their undergrad?

I would really appreciate any advice from someone qualified to answer!

What degree do you plan to apply for- Masters or PhD? in what field- Stats? Applied Math? other? and for what sort of job? Why Columbia & Cornell?

The answers to all of those questions are important in shaping an answer.

1 Like

What @collegemom3717 said. What degree, what field, and what career?