Carleton v Grinnell Help

I’ve been accepted to both Carleton and Grinnell and I’m super psyched!! I’m in love with both of them, but I don’t know which school I would be happier at. From what I’ve seen, really the only differences are Carleton’s trimester system and the overall “vibe” of the student bodies. I can’t really get a feel for the vibe, though, due to COVID.

If anyone has any experience, thoughts, or opinions with one or both of these colleges I would really appreciate it. Thanks!!

Also, the financial aid packages came in within about $500 of each other, so I’m not super worried about the cost difference between them.

1 Like

Wow, congratulations. Two great choices.

I am not an expert, but I would say that probably Carleton is more intensely academic than Grinnell. The trimester system is not for the faint of heart. You might see more nerdy types at Carleton. Northfield is a cute town only about an hour from Minneapolis. Grinnell is probably a bit more hipster, creative, and relaxed. I think the town is more isolated than Northfield. I think there’s a lot of crossover in student types, tbh.

Academically, I don’t think one is better than the other. I suggest you do some more research on Niche and Unigo, and check out the Fiske guide. Also look at their Instagram and Facebook pages. Both have great reputations, great connections, and are highly respected.

If I were a very academically oriented and nerdy student, I’d probably choose Carleton. If I wanted a bit less stress and a slightly more creative vibe I’d probably choose Grinnell. 18 year old me would have chosen Grinnell. I’m going to call on @kalons , @porcupine98 and @Midwestmomofboys who I think collectively know a fair bit about both schools.

3 Likes

Thanks!